Will landline telephones work in a power cut ?

What changes can we make to our lives to deal with the economic and energy crises ahead? Have you already started making preparations? Got tips to share?

Moderator: Peak Moderation

cubes
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:40 pm
Location: Norfolk

Post by cubes »

As far as I'm aware Openreach is intending on phasing out all ISDN and PTSN lines by 2025 to be replaced by VoIP services.

https://digitalwholesalesolutions.com/2 ... witch-off/
User avatar
adam2
Site Admin
Posts: 8221
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:49 pm
Location: North Somerset

Post by adam2 »

cubes wrote:As far as I'm aware Openreach is intending on phasing out all ISDN and PTSN lines by 2025 to be replaced by VoIP services.

https://digitalwholesalesolutions.com/2 ... witch-off/
Thanks, that is pretty much what I had heard, but confirmed from a reliable source rather than relying on my imperfect memory.
"Installers and owners of emergency diesels must assume that they will have to run for a week or more"
fuzzy
Posts: 1388
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: The Marches, UK

Post by fuzzy »

Can you still order fixed leased lines? ie not public switched?

I just had a look, and the definition has changed for marketing to 'your own connection to the internet', so it's really just an expensive link to the exchange.

They used to go from A to B
fuzzy
Posts: 1388
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:08 pm
Location: The Marches, UK

Post by fuzzy »

cubes wrote:As far as I'm aware Openreach is intending on phasing out all ISDN and PTSN lines by 2025 to be replaced by VoIP services.

https://digitalwholesalesolutions.com/2 ... witch-off/
I am not sure I follow the details. Are they going to VoIP from the streetbox to the exchange, or are they really going to turn off analog house phonelines? How are people supposed to troubleshoot faults?

edit:

some techy thoughts here:

https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/techn ... ?fpart=all
kenneal - lagger
Site Admin
Posts: 12499
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:35 am
Location: Newbury, Berkshire
Contact:

Post by kenneal - lagger »

Sounds like I'm going to have to get my fibre connection sorted as we get less than 1Mb connection speed on broad band on the phone line at the moment. And that is after they did their best to increase the speed.
Action is the antidote to despair - Joan Baez
User avatar
adam2
Site Admin
Posts: 8221
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:49 pm
Location: North Somerset

Post by adam2 »

If I have understood correctly, VOIP or fiber is to be used between the exchange and the street side cabinet. A pair of copper wires will still be provided between cabinet and customers premises.

That suggests no reliance on electricity supply at the customers premises, there are still a very small number of customers without electricity, and others with non standard supplies.

There WOULD be total reliance on the electricity supply to the roadside cabinet, which would remain vulnerable to breakdowns, rota power cuts, and possibly deliberate interference by criminals.
These cabinets would presumably be equipped with back up batteries, but my faith in these is limited.

A limited number of customers have fiber into their premises, to give very fast internet or multiple phone lines. This system DOES require electricity at the customers premises. Hopefully users are aware of this and will provide a suitable UPS.

All this presumes that I have correctly understood this, corrections and clarifications welcome.
"Installers and owners of emergency diesels must assume that they will have to run for a week or more"
cubes
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:40 pm
Location: Norfolk

Post by cubes »

fuzzy wrote:I am not sure I follow the details. Are they going to VoIP from the streetbox to the exchange, or are they really going to turn off analog house phonelines? How are people supposed to troubleshoot faults?

edit:

some techy thoughts here:

https://forums.thinkbroadband.com/techn ... ?fpart=all
As I understand it all you'll get is an internet connection. Any voice will be VoIP of some description, even if it's just plug your phone into the router type thing (with an RJ11 -> BT adapter probably), a stand-alone voip phone or an app your your mobile.

Had enough calls at work about this already. BT will certainly tie you into their internet service to use their voip service but you would hope ofcom stop providers from blocking connections to rival providers.
RevdTess
Posts: 2983
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:09 am
Location: Newquay

Post by RevdTess »

As a BT fibre broadband customer I can confirm that when I tried to upgrade my (relatively slow) fibre service to their latest whizzy offering, I was told that my current (Openreach) installation was not compatible with the upgrade as BT are now installing their own kit which has 'phone over fibre' rather than using the existing copper phoneline. They supply you with a VOIP phone as part of the deal.

I eventually got the upgrade by cancelling the original order and reordering via a relatively knowledgeable BT call centre. So no VOIP for me, not that I ever use the BT line anyway. But it's certainly coming.
User avatar
lancasterlad
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:29 am
Location: North Lancashire

Re:

Post by lancasterlad »

adam2 wrote: Wed Aug 26, 2020 1:33 pm I have recently heard, but can not substantiate, that BT plan to migrate almost all phone lines to internet based/fiber optic technology.
I think the plan is that all new connections from a set date will be IP based - I think 2025?
Lancaster Lad

Who turned the lights off?
cubes
Posts: 710
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:40 pm
Location: Norfolk

Re: Will landline telephones work in a power cut ?

Post by cubes »

Not just new connections. All existing PTSN and ISDN will be switched off too. I think the last order date for traditional lines is 2023.
Post Reply